“I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore !”

1976…

30 freaking years ago. It could have been filmed yesterday. Or this morning. Because this scene, those words, those ideas are so contemporary.

I don’t know why, I was thinking about this famous scene. Thailand, PAD, yellow, red, Thaksin, airport, Somchai the llama’s friend, the insanity, the stupidity, the mediocrity, the global financial crisis… We have to get mad !

So go to the window, and yell. And enjoy this great piece of writing (and cinema).

********************

I don’t have to tell you things are bad. Everybody knows things are bad. It’s a depression. Everybody’s out of work or scared of losing their job. The dollar buys a nickel’s worth; banks are going bust; shopkeepers keep a gun under the counter; punks are running wild in the street, and there’s nobody anywhere who seems to know what to do, and there’s no end to it.

We know the air is unfit to breathe and our food is unfit to eat. And we sit watching our TVs while some local newscaster tells us that today we had fifteen homicides and sixty-three violent crimes, as if that’s the way it’s supposed to be!

We all know things are bad — worse than bad — they’re crazy.

It’s like everything everywhere is going crazy, so we don’t go out any more. We sit in the house, and slowly the world we’re living in is getting smaller, and all we say is, “Please, at least leave us alone in our living rooms. Let me have my toaster and my TV and my steel-belted radials, and I won’t say anything. Just leave us alone.”

Well, I’m not going to leave you alone.

I want you to get mad!

I don’t want you to protest. I don’t want you to riot. I don’t want you to write to your Congressman, because I wouldn’t know what to tell you to write. I don’t know what to do about the depression and the inflation and the Russians and the crime in the street.

All I know is that first, you’ve got to get mad.

You’ve gotta say, “I’m a human being, goddammit! My life has value!”

So, I want you to get up now. I want all of you to get up out of your chairs. I want you to get up right now and go to the window, open it, and stick your head out and yell,

“I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!!”

8 Responses to ““I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore !””


  1. 1 FDL 29 November 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I did exactly what you suggested TC and I screamed all my pent-up vitriol against:

    a) Somchai Wongsawat (this crazy idiot is now just appearing on TV requesting his audience to meditate and pray – madness!),

    b) against Somchai’s fugitive brother-in-law (and ex-Thai PM) Thaksin, who recently counselled me and my fellow Thais to respect the laws (are all Shinawatras mental retards or what?),

    c) against Chamlong S. and Sondhi L. who now must believe they are on a good run, so good they would not listen to any phu yais for counsel of restraint or urgings to negotiate . . . and oh yes, they keep repeating their readiness to let their thousands of supporters die for their cause.

    but nothing happened. All these madmen are still around and hogging all worldwide news and now I can’t the latest dirt on Britney, Jackson or Madonna.

  2. 2 ThaiCrisis 29 November 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I know… nothing happened. 😉

    But actually, something… did happen : you understood that the names change, the labels change, the clothes change, the speeches change through history… but the essence remains the same.

    People were, are and will be screwed (duped, manipulated if you prefer).
    😉

  3. 3 chinesethai 29 November 2008 at 1:50 pm

    That video clip makes my day. hahaha 😀

  4. 4 chinesethai 29 November 2008 at 1:52 pm

    What’s the name of the film?

  5. 5 ThaiCrisis 29 November 2008 at 1:53 pm

    “Network” of course. 1976. A masterpiece I think.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0074958/

  6. 6 Klong of Consciousness 29 November 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I just switched on the TV expecting to find a live news report from Suvarnabhumi and what do I get? Live coverage from the Miss Thailand 2008 competition. Amazing Thailand.

  7. 7 ThaiCrisis 29 November 2008 at 4:06 pm

    No, no, live coverages are so boring and definitely not sanuk.

    After Miss Thailand competition (bikini or not ? that’s the burning question) you’ll have a soap opera. From Korea. And after that, the masterpiece, another soap opera. But thai of course.

    The whole experience is called : The Perfect Saturday Night On Thai TV.
    😉

    Have a good night.

  8. 8 fall 29 November 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I just switched on the TV expecting to find a live news report from Suvarnabhumi…
    Ermm… I thought recently the PAD evicted ALL media(except ASTV) from both airport and parliament?


Leave a Reply

Thailand Crisis

Coup, Economic slowdown, Terror In the South... The situation is worsening in Thailand. Bumpy road like often before.

But this time, it's different.

The key to understand the present turmoil is the inevitable... succession of King Bhumibol.


